Juan Carlos Muñoz, Director of our BRT Centre of Excellence, joins BRT Standard Technical Committee

The BRT Standard is an evaluation tool for world-class bus rapid transit (BRT) based on international best practices. It is also the centerpiece of a global effort by leaders in bus rapid transit design to establish a common definition of BRT and ensure that BRT systems more uniformly deliver world-class passenger experiences, significant economic benefits, and positive environmental impacts.

Our Director was invited to be part of the BRT Standard Technical Committee. Juan Carlos considers this invitation a great honor and a recognition by ITDP of the quality of the work coming from our Centre of Excellence in BRT.

The BRT Standard Technical Committee:

The Technical Committee of The BRT Standard comprises globally renowned experts on BRT. This committee serves as a consistent source of sound technical advice with respect to BRT and is the basis for establishing the credibility of The BRT Standard. The Technical Committee certifies corridors and recommends revisions to The Standard as needed. The corridors receive a score that yields them either a Gold, Silver, Bronze or Basic standard BRT qualification

Manfred Breithaupt, GIZ
Wagner Colombini Martins, Logit Consultoria Paulo Custodio, Consultant
Dario Hidalgo, EMBARQ*
Walter Hook, ITDP
Colleen McCaul, Consultant
Gerhard Menckhoff, World Bank (retired)*
Carlos Felipe Pardo, Slow Research
Scott Rutherford, University of Washington*
Pedro Szasz, Consultant
Lloyd Wright, Asian Development Bank*
Juan Carlos Muñoz, BRT Centre of Excellence

Unless indicated by an asterisk (*), each committee member also represents his or her institution.

More information about the BRT Standard: here